Quality in caregiving.

For more information contact usat post@rainbowtrekkers.de

Observation & documentation

IPS method and Portfolio

Observation and documentation are the basis of a reflected pedagogical work. Observing children also means paying attention to them, i.e. seeing things in the world from the perspective of the specific child and trying to understand the child as a whole. At the same time, it serves the critical reflection of our role as adults/educators. The aim of educational observation and documentation is to capture and understand the child’s actions and stage of development as objectively as possible without being influenced by our own subjective perception and value judgements.

As a sponsor, we aim to constantly support our pedagogical professionals in reflecting on themselves and questioning their observations. It is therefore desirable for an educator not to carry out his or her observation on his or her own, but to exchange information with a colleague in all phases.

Observation and documentation are to be seen as a process-like sequence that goes through several phases. It begins with a thorough planning of the observation. This is followed by the implementation, documentation and interpretation of the findings and, if necessary, a consequence, e.g. a support measure or intervention, a decision or an educational approach.

Similar to the language development integrated into everyday life, we also use the IPS method of Kornelia Schlaaf-Kirschner for the development documentation. Depending on age, two different sheets are used:

  • the observation sheet for children under three years of age with the educational areas: hearing, seeing and understanding; speaking; movement and dexterity; body control; emotionality and social togetherness and thinking; and
  • The observation sheet for children from three to six years of age with the educational areas: games; speaking, hearing and seeing; thinking; movement; life skills and social interaction/emotionality.

Based on Schlaaf-Kirschner’s catalogs of criteria and on the basis of free observations, we create written development reports that serve as the basis for our parent-teacher conferences that regularly take place twice a year.  Since the kindergarten year 2020/21 we have started documenting digitally using the KiTaPLUS group app.

In addition to the development discussions, we also work with portfolios. The word portfolio consists of the two Latin words “portare” (“to carry”) and “folium” (“leaf”) and refers to a collection of documents. The aim is to create a collection of personal documents for each child. The child is given the opportunity to help shape the portfolio, whether through painted pictures, crafts or writing.

Members of:

Deutscher Kitaverband
Förderverein Frühe Bildung in der Kita
Transparente Zivilgesellschaft

Quality in caregiving

Für weitere Informationen kontaktierenSie uns unter post@rainbowtrekkers.de

Beobachten und dokumentieren

IPS-Methode und Portfolio

Beobachten und Dokumentieren sind die Grundlage einer reflektierten pädagogischen Arbeit. Kinder beobachten bedeutet auch Kinder beachten, also die Dinge dieser Welt aus der Perspektive des spezifischen Kindes zu sehen und das Kind in seiner Ganzheit verstehen zu versuchen. Es dient gleichzeitig der kritischen Reflektion unserer Rolle als Erwachsener/Erzieher. Anspruch der Bildungsbeobachtung und Dokumentation ist es, Handeln und Entwicklungsstand des Kindes möglichst objektiv zu erfassen und zu verstehen ohne dadurch von unseren eigenen subjektiven Wahrnehmung und Werturteilen beeinflusst zu werden.

Als Träger haben wir den Anspruch, unsere Fachkräfte stetig dabei zu unterstützen, sich zu reflektieren und ihre Beobachtungen zu hinterfragen. Deswegen ist es wünschenswert, wenn eine Fachkraft ihre Beobachtung nicht alleine durchführt, sondern sich in allen Phasen mit einem Kollegen oder einer Kollegin austauscht.

Beobachtung und Dokumentation ist dabei als prozesshafter Ablauf zu sehen, welcher mehrere Phasen durchläuft. Er beginnt mit einer gründlichen Planung der Beobachtung. Danach folgt die Durchführung, Dokumentation und Interpretation der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse und ggf. eine Konsequenz, z.B. eine Fördermaßnahme oder Intervention, eine Entscheidung oder ein pädagogisches Angebot.

Ähnlich wie für die alltagsintegrierte Sprachentwicklung so nutzen wir auch für die Entwicklungsdokumentation seit vielen Jahren die IPS-Methode von Kornelia Schlaaf-Kirschner. Abhängig vom Alter gibt es dabei unterschiedliche Beobachtungsschwerpunkte:

  • für Kinder unter drei Jahren die Beobachtungsbereiche Hören, Sehen und Verstehen; Sprechen; Bewegung und Geschicklichkeit; Körperkontrolle; Emotionalität und soziales Miteinander und Denken;
  • für Kinder von drei bis sechs Jahren die Beobachtungsbereiche Spielen; Sprechen, Hören und Sehen; Denken; Bewegung; Lebenspraxis und soziales Miteinander/Emotionalität.

Auf Basis der Kriterienkataloge von Schlaaf-Kirschner und auf Basis von freien Beobachtungen erstellen wir schriftliche Entwicklungsberichte, die als Basis für die zweimal jährlich stattfindenden Entwicklungsgespräche mit den Eltern dienen. Seit dem Kitajahr 2020/21 dokumentieren wir digital. Dabei kommt auch die KiTaPLUS-Gruppenapp zum Einsatz.

Neben den Entwicklungsgesprächen arbeiten wir mit Portfolios. Das Wort Portfolio setzt sich aus den beiden lateinischen Wörtern „portare“ („tragen“) und „folium“ („Blatt“) zusammen und bezeichnet eine Sammlung von Dokumenten. So soll für jedes Kind eine Sammlung persönlicher Dokumente erstellt werden. Das Kind erhält die Möglichkeit, selbst das Portfolio mitzugestalten, sei es durch gemalte Bilder, Gebasteltes oder Geschriebenes.

Wir sind Mitglied bei:

Deutscher Kitaverband
Förderverein Frühe Bildung in der Kita
Transparente Zivilgesellschaft